Salmon Fishing Forum banner
  • Please post in our Community Feedback thread for help with the new forum software! If you are having trouble logging in, please Contact Us for assistance.
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am pretty new to atlantic salmon fishing and would like some advice or input on fly size. I read that people fish from size 4/0 all the way down to size 18.

What size fly do you generally have the most confidence?

Do you change size depending on water condition or season?

I generally fish from size 2/0 to 2 with limited success.

i realize that hook shank differences are all over the place so I think I am asking about the typical looped eyed salmon hook size.

Any help or advice would be appreciated.

·
Registered
6,811 Posts
The basic rule for Salmon fly selection is, the higher the water ( in relation to its normal summer level ) the colder the water or air temp, the faster the water and the more coloured it is and even the faster you will be moving the fly in relation to the water speed, the bigger the fly you should choose.
As for small flies, the lower the water ( in relation to its normal summer level ), the slower the water, the slower you'll fish the fly, the clearer the water and the warmer the water and air temp. the smaller a fly you should choose.
That can overlap a bit or be complicated by low very clear cold water in spring or a fast rain swollen warmer summer flood.
A size 2/0 to size 2 are pretty big flies and to me indicate singles and I'm hazarding a guess you fish in North America/Alaska/Canada?.