Upgrade 13' 6" #8/9 - recommendations?

iainmortimer

Reaction score
My current rod in this size is a 3 section Airflo Delta Classic which I really enjoy using but ideally I'd like a 4 piece rod for ease of transport within a budget of £500.

Currently I'm using a Barrio ISS #8/9 floating with polyleaders which achieves all that I want and so something matched to that would be good. I'm far from an expert at casting and have never progressed beyond single or double spey and so I don't want something to fast actioned that will highlight my less than perfect precision timing!

What recommendations do you guys have...and just as importantly, any to avoid!

Thanks,
Iain

Rrrr

Reaction score
Ive been doing the same lately as i wanted a softer rod to see if it helped with an old shoulder injury. I was ready to buy a used guideline nt8 or new vision onki as both seemed to fit what i was looking for.
Ended up with a used older greys rod from ebay after a tip off on here as it was cheap and will give me an idea if a slower rod is actualy what im after then i can upgrade if so.

Sent from my SM-G981B using Tapatalk

NEbody

Reaction score
I was impressed with a 13’ Greys GR60 when I tried one a couple of years ago - and it’s only half your budget.

if you can find a 13’ Vision Onki (and live with the colour), that would also fit the bill.

JoeE

Reaction score
I'd look at a LPXe V3. One on ebay the other day at 13ft. I have every size but the 13ft howveer am sure it would fit your bill nicely.

I run Galeforce floating lines and Guideline 3d/4d on the bigger rods

Rrrr

Reaction score
I was impressed with a 13’ Greys GR60 when I tried one a couple of years ago - and it’s only half your budget.

if you can find a 13’ Vision Onki (and live with the colour), that would also fit the bill.
The colour of the onki was the only thing that made me think twice about them. Its abit petty but i like the rod to match the reel