Trolling sprats on Loch Ness

Mr Ferox

Reaction score
Hi fellow fishers. Im new to this forum. Ive been trolling on Loch Ness for the last 6 years. Ive caught lots of Salmon, Ferox Trout, Sea Trout, Brown Trout on the Loch.

The method that ive never tried is trolling cured dyed sprats for Salmon. There seems to be very little literature on this topic in Scotland, especially Loch Ness. Some traditional fishers on Loch Lomond still apply it i believe. Its a very successful method and would love to add it to my arsenal of tactics.

Is anybody out there willing to share their experiences and hard earned knowledge.

Regards Mr Ferox

Mr Ferox

Reaction score

salmo76

Reaction score
Written by Euan Mc Grandle I believe , he really knows his stuff and writes a great article . His family history on Lomond goes back generations and his knowledge and historical stories of angling on the loch are a must read for any aspiring lomond angler. The articles by Peter Lyons and Angus Mac Ritchie, detailing their methods are of equal quality , definitely work and are a must read also.

Lomond is very accessible for fishing , is loch Ness readily accessible for those with their own boats ?
What sort of techniques , lures do you find work well up there for the salmon and trout ?

Last edited:

Mr Ferox

Reaction score
The thesis linked below doesn’t talk tactics but does inform comprehensively on the UK Ferox which I found really interesting and relevant, like you I fish Loch Ness when I can. Thanks go to the author Martin Hughes.

http://theses.gla.ac.uk/8280/1/2017HughesPhD.pdf
Hi MKB. Glad to see someone else who fishes Loch Ness on here. Whats your preferences on the loch. You obviously have a fair interest in salmon, otherwise you would not be on this forum! Im assuming you have an intrest in Ferox Trout too? Im very enthusiastic about both Salmon and Ferox. I could be on this topics for ever.