The Hardy Angel MK 1

Hardyreels

Administrator
Staff member
Reaction score
I've posted a WTB in the classifieds although I have zero experience with these reels. In view of that I thought to ask who may be using one in the larger sizes such as 7/8 or 9/10. I have some modern Hardy reels and have owned many of the classic models. Among the new are: a Uniqua Large Arbor circa 2000 - 2007, The reintroduced Cascapedia bought in 2009 - the MTX 7000 and a Swift MK1.

I would expect the Angel reels to be very good reels and ask that if anyone should discover any still in stock anywhere please send me a message here. If I can get hold of an appropriate sized reel I plan to then look up a Demon 14 foot #9 rod. Perhaps I'm becoming eccentric but the concept of an Angel & Demon fishing combo appeals to me at this stage of life. I read a book years ago of that title Angles and Demons by Dan Brown and when I realized there were rods and reels bearing the same monikers I decided to get on the hunt.

Fishing Silvers & Chums tomorrow with the Guideline LPXe and the Hardy MTX 7000 and expect to give them a workout :)

Reactions: T7

paddymc

Reaction score
Ard, you may want to search this forum and other places before making your purchase.

These reels are notorious for having frequent drag problems and requiring ongoing mollycoddling in the hope that they work.

Rennie

Reaction score
Ard, I've two Angels, the 11/12 and 9/10, gorgeous reels, when they're looked after perfect in fact.The early ones had bad bearings, both MK1's (made in UK reels) and MK2's (Korean reels), but as the drags not sealed, never dunk them unless you've no choice and never put them away wet, esp. in the neoprene case.
MK1's are the better reel. Drags are gorgeous!.I love the aesthetics of them and they take good line and plenty of backing.
Word of warning to you, AVOID the Angel rods at all costs!
Pedro.