The fly under water?

ck123

Reaction score
So I've been doing the rapala knot for a while now and have been quite happy with it but the guys i fish with (know a lot more than me) say my fly twists and doesn't act in a way the salmon will want to take it with this knot, they then showed me a knot called the double turle that they said will keep my fly straight in the water and will keep it fishing correctly, could ye give me your thoughts on this? Thanks

kgm

Reaction score
I often fish using the rapala knot. I try and keep the loop fairly small and have never had a problem with it, neither did the fish I caught.

Always have a look at you fly in the water before you start casting to make sure it looks good and swims well in the conditions. If your happy with it you'll be more confident and focus better on your fishing.

Last edited:

ck123

Reaction score
Thanks kgm, as a novice I don't know the way the different types of knots make the fly behave differently

Grey Monkey

Reaction score
You will find there is divided opinion....

If the Rapala knot is tied with appropriate light tippet ( nylon/ fluro) for the

size of fly.....

the fly should move more than a fly tied with a double turle.......imho

( "simples" compare the difference .com ...joke!)

Piker20

Reaction score
I agree with above. The rapala will allow more movement but then I use a uni for 99% of all my flies and haven't felt I've missed takes due to that, although we'll never know.
If you use a double hook that is dressed properly the fly should sit correctly in the water. I've found singles have more tendency to tilt over.

auldsalmon

Reaction score