switch rods

DontKnowJack

Reaction score
hi there
am looking for some adviced, thinking of buying a switch rod for summer fishing with shooting heads i have no experience with switch rods and wouldnt know what brand or model to go for so any advice would be greatly appreciated!

Grilse Boy

Reaction score
Try before you buy

If you have never tried one i suggest you go to your local tackle dealer and ask if you can try a demo model to see if it to your liking or you could waste your money till you find what your looking for ..

westie4566

Reaction score
Fished a Batson Rainshadow switch all last season, 10'8" 8wt, perfect for smaller waters where backcast room is limited.

I love mine, but as said, you should really try one out first.

Springer

Reaction score
Fished a Batson Rainshadow switch all last season, 10'8" 8wt, perfect for smaller waters where backcast room is limited.

I love mine, but as said, you should really try one out first.

What lines did you use Westie?

pond.olive

Reaction score
THe American Spey Pages forum http://speypages.com/speyclave/ carries much on switch rods and the lines to use. It is the choice of line that appears to be causing the most difficulties and experimentation seems the way to go. It may be best to buy rod and recomended line from the same source.

Switch rod actions vary as do spey rods. I like a fast rod and chose a Redington (7/8 11'3") for that reason. The manufacturer suggests Rio AFS 6/7 and 7/8 to suit the rod, the heavier one if you are mostly spey-casting with it.

Some rods eg Rainshadow, Sage Z-Axis and TCX are available as blanks or kits, the Rainshadow being especially economical if you have the skills to build one up. Have a look here: http://www.batsonenterprises.com/
Also do a search on eBay where you will find several kits offered from the U.S.

There is very little usage of switch rods over here as yet, but I believe there is a growing interest.

loughman

Reaction score
A topic close to my heart!