Spey line for beginner

Wobblinbrush

Reaction score
Hi All,

Complete and utter noob here, probably asking something that's been asked 100 times.
But what's a good normal/ traditional spey line?
I've been flyfishing for trout since a child(36 now🙃) and I'm going to learn to spey cast this year.
I've spent the evening looking for a line online and everything seems to be some sort of Scandi of Skagit line, which I think are shooting head systems. I might be foolish but I don't want to learn with a shooting head initially.
Any recommendations?

Cheers

lefthandup

Reaction score
Depends what size of rod you are using but I use to really like a snowbee 1d on my 13ft 8/9....short head so a good beginers line if you're going down that route.
I'm limited with lines now so better advice will no doubt be given.

iainmortimer

Reaction score
Barrio Short Head Spey is the line I started with. Very easy to use and easily carries a 10’ polyleader on my 13’6 rod.

Hoddom

Reaction score
As you learn you may find it easier to cope with a Spey line with a shorter head length. Scandi andd skagit lines are shorter lengths which makes them much easier to cast than a traditional longer Spey line - ie they demonstrate the principle underlying why a shorter head Spey line wil likely be easier for you as you learn.
the Snowbee 1D line is a very nice line to cast and has the shorter head.
well we’ll worth getting a lesson. An hour with someone who knows how to teach and cast could save you a lot of frustration and money. you have an advantage having fished single handed rods- but it is very different😀
have fun as you go.

nickolas

Reaction score
As hoddom says the shorter the line the easier it is, if your prepared to put the hours in it shouldn’t take to long, (maybe 1000 hours 😦 ) but as others have said, get somebody to put you in the right direction first that knows what he’s doing.

Rennie

Reaction score