Single Spey - any advice welcome

Finglas

Reaction score

No idea if I’ve managed to successfully attach this video of me casting. If I have, then all critiques are welcome. Think I’m probably drifting too far forward on the forward stroke and not giving it enough of a distinct stop.

Any tips would be very welcome.

jamie

Tangled

Reaction score
I'm no casting expert but there doesn't look much wrong with that - if you chucked it much further you'd be in the tree.

A guide would criticise you for walking after casting though - “stay put and fish out the ******* cast”. He'd also probably tell you to put a mend in too - but depends on where and what you're fishing.

Fredzefisher

Reaction score
Its very difficult to comment on the rights and wrongs of a spey cast! Every single angler I know has a different method, every rod and every line has a different anchor point. A stiffer rod requires a different action to one wth more flex. From what I can see, your fly is turning over at the end of the cast and the line is landing straight which, in my opinion, is the most important thing to acheive as your fly is fishing from the moment it hits the water. Without a shadow of doubt I have had more takes within the first few seconds of a fly hitting the water - which should mean that it is fishing correctly from the moment of impact. My only concern would be using your cast with a high bank or trees closer behind, as your rod travels behind you a bit more than I would be happier with. However, as said there is nothing wrong with the cast (slightly agree with Tangled about the movement!)

Last edited:

Finglas

Reaction score
I'm no casting expert but there doesn't look much wrong with that - if you chucked it much further you'd be in the tree.

A guide would criticise you for walking after casting though - “stay put and fish out the ******* cast”. He'd also probably tell you to put a mend in too - but depends on where and what you're fishing.