Rod to match Abu Ambassador 6000

rawson

Reaction score
I have a 70's Red Ambassador 6000 multiplier and would like to purchase a suitable rod to match up with this fantastic old school multiplier reel. Whilst I appreciate it depends on what type of fishing I intend to do , rivers conditions etc. I just thought I would put it out there, I'm on a tight budget because I will be looking at buying fly fishing gear as well at some point and know that could get costly and will have to try before I buy. Can't see me fishing in heavy spring conditions, not yet anyway.
So rod to suit the 6000, what would you suggest I look for. New , old school, 2nd hand weight rating etc?

p.s And are they termed 'bait casting rods' as against a spinning rod if so what is the difference.
Thanks ,Martin

chrishconnolly

Reaction score
Minimum 10 feet in my opinion depends on the size of rivers you will be fishing.
I use an 11 fter but I fish the Tay so needs the longer and stronger rod to punt out heavy leads with the floating Devon.
Lots of good second hand rods available that will suit using that reel.
Give me some more info on where you will be fishing and what's the top end of your budget for a rod and I will suggest a few.

Chris

rawson

Reaction score
Hi Chris budget iro £50-£100 I guess.
I live next to the Tees, and obviously will look at fishing Yorkshire and Tyneside I guess initially.
I will be looking for Fly rods reels at some point too, but my fist fishing is plnned on North Tyne all gear supplied.
I

rawson

Reaction score
Minimum 10 feet in my opinion depends on the size of rivers you will be fishing.
I use an 11 fter but I fish the Tay so needs the longer and stronger rod to punt out heavy leads with the floating Devon.
Lots of good second hand rods available that will suit using that reel.
Give me some more info on where you will be fishing and what's the top end of your budget for a rod and I will suggest a few.

Chris

rawson

Reaction score