McLean net Help

simonjh98

Reaction score
Hi Folks,

I've been using my Mclean Sea Trout sized net for 3 years now, and the plastic release buttons are starting to become hard to use.
Whenever I press down on the plastic release pin to slide the handle out to net a fish, the plastic pins get stuck and wont go down any further making it difficult to slide the net into the locked position. In order to press the pins down I have to use intense pressure to the point where it is too painful to push the pins in and requires two hands. Obviously this is a problem when one hand is playing the fish :ROFLMAO:

Is there any way to replace the pins or change them to metallic ones?

Thanks!

Sand dancer

Reaction score
I’ve been using one of these nets for the last 4 years. I never have the locked with the white button when I’m fishing as gravity keeps it in position. The only time I would lock the net in position is if I was weighting a fish.

My net spent a week missing in action after taking a trip down the south Tyne so I don't have faith in the accuracy of the scales anyway and don’t use the weigh feature now anyway.

Saint Andrews

Reaction score
Hi Folks,

I've been using my Mclean Sea Trout sized net for 3 years now, and the plastic release buttons are starting to become hard to use.
Whenever I press down on the plastic release pin to slide the handle out to net a fish, the plastic pins get stuck and wont go down any further making it difficult to slide the net into the locked position. In order to press the pins down I have to use intense pressure to the point where it is too painful to push the pins in and requires two hands. Obviously this is a problem when one hand is playing the fish :ROFLMAO:

Is there any way to replace the pins or change them to metallic ones?

Thanks!

I have the same problem so I am interested if you find a solution!

Pati

Reaction score