Low water fishing techniques for salmon/trout.

Annanboy

Reaction score
Hello all, I'm a newbie to fishing so please bare with me. I have recently joined a group of friends who fish the river Annan in south west Scotland and I would dearly love to catch a salmon or big brownie either with a devon minnow or worm. Trouble is the river is very low at the moment so I'm struggling with how to fish it properly. Any comments would be appreciative. I have an 11ft spinning rod, plenty of tackle, so good to go but need some of your expert knowledge.

Many thanks

Paul
Carlisle

Piker20

Reaction score
I'm far from expert but with the worm I find fishing mono from reel to worm, no weight. Two or three big lobs or three to five redworms and throw upstream, keep rod high and watch where line goes in water to keep it moving back toward you. When it stops gently lift. Once it's down below you and worm has come to surface or swung right in cast up again.
You'll feel tugs and plucks from fish.
Lots of guys here just chuck it in and wait. This works but you'll kill a lot of trout that way.

ArchieL

Reaction score
If you are using a 10ft rod during the summer when river is low then i suggest you only use 12lb mono during the low water months especially when worming. I would tie a swivel on end of 12lb line then a 3 ft section of 10lb to hook & if you need to cast the worms any distance then you will need to use weight. The issue with adding weight to cast to a run or lie is that you may not need this weight for your worms to trickle through the lie where the salmon are lying. One method is to use the carp fishing PVA fast dissolving tape , you can wrap a little pebble to the line or even better is to tie a little section of telephone wire and wrap pebble to this with the PVA tape. This tape will desolve and allow the worms to trundle through the lies without the pebble.