Loop cross S1 9ft 8 in 5 pc 7wt anyone have or cast one of these

DRN

Reaction score
Has anyone cast one of these?
Whats your thoughts?
Too stiff or plenty of feel?
Feel light or heavy for its length?
Any thoughts appreciated.
Contemplating building one and I can find nothing with regards to peoples thoughts on this rod.
Cheers
Nick

pfeul

Reaction score
Hi

I own this rod and like it a lot.
Together with a Guideline lxi switch 6/7, it's my go to rod for grilse fishing the small breton river here in France.

I'm no rod designer and not skilled enough to define the action of a rod so take my words with caution. I would define it as a "typical" loop action.
It has a powerful butt and can carry a lot of line in the air as well as been precise at close range.

As far as its weight, I don't find it heavy, nor it is the lightest rod I've fished.
I use a scierra traxion 7/9 reel on it (very good reel by the way for the money) which is rather on the heavy side for a modern reel (~250g).
It balances the rod perfectly when casting.

I've used the rod with a loop opti 210 #7 fly line which is my preferred line for the rod.
The rio single handed spey line #7 works also very well as well as an aiflo 40+ #6 for close work.

I just don't like the recoil guides. As soon as the line is not dressed enough with lubricant, they emit a sound which is very annoying.

hope it helps...

DRN

Reaction score
Brilliant thanks for all that information.
Those rec guides are very annoying with that grinding high pitch noise they make. Isn't really conducive to "peaceful" fishing!

tenet

Reaction score
I was surprised to learn that both Loop and Guidline switch rods are rated as single handed rods rather than salmon rods. Assuming this to be true it is at odds with the vast majority of rods out there.:confused:

easky

Reaction score