Hello from a very wet Teesside

rawson

Reaction score
Hi newbie here a little bit about myself.
Coarse fished as a kid in the Tees and Swale and various small ponds. Stopped when starting work and did a little stillwater trout fly fishing. Moved away from that to persue other outdoor interests. But have this 'bucket list' item to Salmon fish and so here I am.
Called in to House of Hardy in Alnwick during a weekend stayaway with friends last year and got chatting to a very helpful guy in the shop about this 'bucket list' item. He took me outside with some of the latest gear and had a few casts whilst we chatted. He explained about the good fishing to be had on the North Tyne and on returning to the shop produced a book with a list of names and numbers. This will get you access to water with a tutor/ghillie for very reasonable rates will all gear supplied except the chest waders. Amazing value it is too, so mid September, I will have my first ever day Salmon fishing.
Excited, you bet I am!
P.S I've posted a question on tackle choice so help me if you can, thanks.

Reactions: wgs

MCXFisher

Reaction score
Rawson,
welcome to the Forum where you'll find all manner of wit, wisdom and everything else besides. It helps to have a sense of humour and a thick skin, but hiding in here is an immense body of experience and knowledge that will accelerate your learning. Always remember that in salmon fishing there's no such thing as a stupid question. In that regard the Forum has a very good search facility that allows you to mine some of the gold nuggets from the past and to explore the responses to common questions.
You've taken a very good first step with seeking professional tuition. keep it up because such learning, especially in casting, will hugely increase you enjoyment and progress.
If you want some basic tips and winter reading, Just One Week is written specifically for novices in the world of fishing for salmon with the fly. There are 107 chapters and a summary index.