Fly fishing on a small spate

Dannyjbg

Reaction score
Hi all,
Firstly, I'm pretty new to fly fishing and sorry for my ignorance. Essentially I am looking for any information on how to fly fish a small spate river - regarding actually fishing it and my gear. The river in question is in Cumbria and up to about 15/20 ft wide maximum with most pools much less - although they can be quite deep. I have a Daiwa Whisker 10ft 6-8# and I have floating line - Not sure on which leader I should be using (or flies!) All advice appreciated!

gwelsher

Reaction score
That rod will be ok if the fish are not very big and the river is pretty clear of obstructions. If not you will need to get stronger rod.
I would get some Airflo 5' Trout polytips. Inter, Slow and Fast sink will cover most depths.

MCXFisher

Reaction score
Stick 3 feet of nylon onto the end of the polyleader, using either a leader ring or a loop to loop connection.

As for flies, nobody was ever thought foolish for using a Cascade: get a couple at each size 6, 8, 10 and 12.

That will suffice to get you started.

ArchieL

Reaction score
Buddy the boys above have pretty much nailed it with the responses. Do yourself a big favour and hit MCX Fishers link "Just one week" as it will give you a better insight of what you want to be doing.. Well worth the time to read.

Basically you are wanting to swing your fly round in the current at various speeds ranging from fast to slow depending on the section of water and you want to add the 5ft polyleader to your fly line (loop to loop) and then as MXC states tie 3 feet of nylon on to the polyleader then tie on your fly. Polyleader sink rates can be changed depending on depth of stretch you are fishing and speed of flow..These polyleaders are added to stop the fly skating on the surface and to get the fly in the salmons range of view as it swings round past the salmon lie. Read the blog mate and i promise you will feel more confident in going to the river and doing things right.