Flies for Grilse - whats your favourite, never fail fly ??

Tyke777

Reaction score
Its soon getting to the time of year when the Grilse runs are back, those great summer days, fishing the heads and Tails of Pools, throwing a hitch fly or Collie Dog across to see if anything has a go....

My favorite Grilse fly over the years has become an Ayrshireman (but I'm no expert), but anyone of the flamethrowers is good, or a straight forward Cascade - what is your "Go To" Grilse fly?

I also think size is very important but just asking, whats the pattern that entices??

I'm looking forward to what people throw in the mix :thumb:

jcmj

Reaction score
Flies for Grilse

Alistair - tied on Tubes various sizes and weights - 1/4" plastic to 1" brass - The Helmsdale Company used to sell them with fluorescent red heads which were good - they still sell Cascade Alistairs which are also very good.

Last edited:

Neil W

Reaction score
Cascade is good but I still catch a lot on a ally’s shrimp. Still a great fly for me

Loxie

Reaction score
It's quite an interesting question. I tend not to differentiate between grilse and salmon flies. I very occasionally fish in a different way, and often in a different place but not with different flies. I will be interested to hear what others think.

dexterbuchanan1

Reaction score
For running fish(high water)flamethrower in orange/ cascade or a long tailed GP,for normal and low water conditions a sunray stripped fast is hard to beat not just for takes but it often shows where a fish is laying for a second run down with small dark fly (stoatstail/haugar)

AdeyB

Reaction score
Small red boyo's always been good for me and the Maries Shrimp , both on small doubles.

Also had alot of success with Alistair micro tubes in lower water.

Reaction score
All on a size 10 or 12 double's

Curry red or gold Shrimp
Calvin Shrimp
Silver Doctor
Bann Special
Hairy Mary
Lemon Lobber (Limerick Fly)
Hot Orange
Soldier Palmer