Daft question about backing?

chriswjx

Reaction score
So I've seen folk discussing reel capacities, between reels or mono v dacron. But whats confused me about it is, how do you all know how much backing you've put on? 😅

See people saying "oh I can 130m or 160m" but for me as a beginner, I can tell you if I use up a fresh spool of 100m of backing how much I've put on, but I'd struggle to even give you more than a rough guess (more than 100m but less than 200m) if I was filling a reel from a larger (300m+) or partially used spool of backing?

Cheers
Chris

Lewis.Chessman

Reaction score
Hi, Chris. One method is to put the fly line on the spool first, then attach the backing and fill to capacity.
If you have an identical spare spool for the reel you can attach the backing to that, swap the spools, put the 'backfilled' spool on a spindle* and then reel the lot onto 'spool b'. Job done.

If no spare spool, you might go outside and strip the lot off onto the grass, then return to the backing and attach it to your spool to load it perfectly. A small child is a useful accessory when running the line out. Saves you a lot of walking. ;)

* Since you say you are a beginner it might be worth adding that fly lines should be loaded by placing them on a spindle so the the line does not twist when it's loaded (as happens if you reel it onto the spool over the edge of the line's packaging). Each twist imparted will cause a coil when you fish with it, effectively ruining your line and your fun.
Hope that's clear?

chriswjx

Reaction score
Cheers, aye I've gotten a dab hand at just guessing the right amounts of backing for my trout reels. The reverse spooling technique was a godsend when I was filling my old youngs 1535s and 1540s though... my question's more how do folk seem to be able to say, oh I've put on X yards of backing onto that reel? I don't see how I could put even an estimate on the yardage unless I just put a whole spool of backing (of known length) on it...