Complete beginner to worm fishing

rob1976

Reaction score
Hi folks, looking for some info on how to fish using the worm. My main question is what do I need to fish the worm, I.e hooks weight line. And how to set the rig up. Thanks rob

ddave07

Reaction score
It firstly depends on the river you fish. Some allow float fishing, others don't. You can freeline, fly fish, bounce a betty, there are lots of different ways to fish the worm.

The river I fish, is a small Spate River, where float fishing is banned. This is the only place where I have worm fished, so here's how I fish them on my local river. I've only fished with worms on my river over the last 4 or 5 years; there are far more experienced fishermen on here who'll help out more than I can.

I use whats called a bouncing betty (theres some good threads on here as to what that is or a quick google will help, its a way of fishing where you can very quickly change the weight you are using to suit faster or slower parts of the water) and i have the betty free running on my mainline (usually 10-12lb) then I have a Ball bearing swivel with a 2' long hook link (usually 8-10lb of fluorocarbon). If its low water, I tend to use a single Dendrobaena on a Size 8 or 10 circle hook, a lobworm or 2 I'd fish on a size 4 circle hook. I've found circle hooks to be great for ensuring a fish is lip hooked.

A bouncing betty shouldn't be fixed on the bottom of the river, but it should, when you cast it out move along the bottom at a slow walking pace. If it's holding on the bottom lighten the weight (maybe even move onto some split shots) if its coming round too quickly put a heavier weight on it.

The way I fish it is cast across the river, bale arm down and sort of fish it like a fly keeping in touch with the line at all times. Feeling for taps, rattles, the line suddenly not moving etc...