Bleach dying squirrel tails

Irn Bru

Reaction score
Hello, Has anyone tried to bleach dye grey squirrel tails lately? I did read a post about using nice n easy to bleach them safely but I don’t know how long to leave them in or if Veniards dye is ok to use? I’m completely new to dying but really fancied trying for a hot orange tail and a nice yellow but solid colours. Any instructions would be great, I see I maybe need vinegar to set colour also?

westie4566

Reaction score
I've not tried bleaching yet so will await responses to that part of the question too.

I started dying my own stuff last autumn and find it rather addictive!

Veniards has been fine for me so far and yes, a tablespoon of vinegar in the pot is required. It really is a quick and simple operation.

Clydebuilt

Reaction score
Be interested in hearing about bleaching ideas too, like Westie, I've started dying roe deer and feathers but not bleached anything yet.
Veniard powder dye has been fine for me too so far.

Irn Bru

Reaction score
Thank you both for replying. I will have a bash and take note of what I’m doing and if it works out I will share my findings. I will give them a good wash first that always seems to be mentioned. 👍

gwelsher

Reaction score
Do not expect to get perfect results straight away as bleaching Squirrel can be a bugger. But when you get it right it is a beautiful and much underused hair. Probably because it is more difficult to tie in than Fox, Runner etc.

Use one of the hair lighteners as you said. Don't use bleach as you will more than likely destroy the hair.
Wash the tails thoroughly in warm soapy water and rinse clean.
Mix up the hair stuff and put it in a zip top poly bag.
Put the tails in and close the top.
Give it a good squidge around to really get the solution into the roots of the hairs.
Put the bag in a warm place.
Check every day to see how it is coming on and give it a good squidge.