Best time of year to fish?

Mansell

Reaction score
Hi everyone ,as a beginner I was under the impression that Sept Oct where when most salmon come home to spawn and that is traditionally the best time to fish for them although I know a few enter into the river all year round hence Springer's! On my first trip to the Tay the Gillie said that you only get coloured fish in September when I was there so I'm a little confused! Got the impression that they slowly arrive through the year and spawn in October or do Springer's spawn early too? Sorry for such a silly question it's just I live in south east England and travel twice a year to the trossachs so knowing what time I should be there for the best chance would help me loads! Thanks mansell

Occasional salmon fisher

Reaction score
On most rivers, the timing of the main salmon runs has changed over the last few years/decade.

It used to be the case that on many rivers, large numbers of fresh fish entered and ran up the rivers in September and October (and even November).

On most rivers it now seems that the majority of salmon are entering and running up the rivers much earlier (February to July/August) with much fewer fresh fish in September and October. You still get running/movement of coloured fish within rivers up to the end of the season.

Varies from river to river and to some extent year to year but that has been the general trend.

Mansell

Reaction score
Thank you very much for your reply it's helped loads! Was up in March but caught terrible food poisoning on the way up which lasted about5 days always thought it would of been a good time but that's fishing I suppose.ANYWAY thanks again my friend!

Occasional salmon fisher

Reaction score