Any Other Problems?

chriswjx

Reaction score
So, I'm a fair beginner at this casting malarkey, having just had a casting lesson and the odd day with my switch rod on the River Almond in Edinburgh. Currently, I'm trying to develop my ability to shoot line in preparation for my first trip (all things willing) to the Tay at the end of April.

However, I'm noticing that whilst I can cast the full width of the Almond with my right hand up and still get a wee tug at the reel as it lands. When I cast with my left hand up, I'm lucky if the line barely tickles the same distance, and the feel I get is that I'm not loading the rod fully.

Hopefully, I have a lesson booked with Eoin Fairgrieve at the start of April were I can get an expert eye on it. But between then, I'm wanting to try and work on it myself. Currently, I'm of the mind that

1) I'm not pausing enough on the backstroke.

2) there might be a small amount of creep in the delivery? But I don't think/feel that's the case.

3) Definitely the odd case of rogue tracking every few casts, as it doesn't always lay straight.

Anyone have any other possible faults that it might be? And any advice on how to correct them?

Figure it's just practice practice practice, but if there's something that I can be incorporating that reduces the likelihood of me ingraining bad habits I'm all for it.

Odd thing is, I'm left hand dominant and I guess I case of forcing the cast might be an issue to?

Cheers

Chris

chriswjx

Reaction score
Okay, what with the latest from the Scottish Gov. that casting lesson isn't likely to happen.

Back to asking for any suggestions on what practices/exercises I can do to focus on the above faults? I'm still planning to go into the water, and with the way things are currently going, waiting till I'm allowed to have another lesson isn't really practical.

Rrrr

Reaction score
I cant cast at all left hand up. I find it alot easier to cast off the other shoulder and crossed if its due to the wind.