AIRS VARIVAS Shooting line

Geordieboy

Reaction score
Good Morning all,
I am after some running lines. I have a right mix of RIO and John Norris and Greys shooting lines. I am not a proficient enough caster to notice the difference, (but I will get there). What are peoples preferences on shooting lines, (MOno vs coated) and what are your opinions on the AIRS VARIVAS Shooting line?

Many thanks

JoeE

Reaction score
40lb amnesia monofilament at £4.50 for 100m on rods above 12ft, and the 30lb for rods below. Works brilliant and is cheap as chips

In saying that some chip shops are taking the mick!

Rennie

Reaction score
If as you say your proficiency levels aren't too good yet I'd sack any notion of mono running lines just yet.Coated is far more user friendly for those who are still finding their casting feet.There is a generally held notion mono running lines will allow you to cast further and easier, sorry to say thats not strictly true.What gives you distance and ease of use are your own personal casting skills and untill those are developed you'll honestly be better off with some form of coated running line. Norrises own brand 30lb coated running line is as good as any you will get and will give you exactly what you need, it'll float all week long ( some don't! ), its ready looped and you can rely on it 100%.
I've used Varivas and while it's ok, it never floats 100% and once it gets a kink or bad fankle it'll attract tangles like an open jam pot attracts wasp's.Expensive for what it is too.
If you're fixed on mono, then Amnesia is the stuff to use in 30lb or 40lb, really there's nowt out there thats any better.I've used Amnesia on my big heads for years now and I can thoroughly recommend it.
Pedro.

Icelander05

Reaction score