11'3" #7 Switch Rod - First build

AlanT

Reaction score
Just thought I'd start a thread on my very first rod build.

Although I've never built a rod before I have decided to make all the jigs and fixtures and build the handle from scratch just to make things difficult for myself. . . .

The goal is to make a half decent rod as cheaply as possible, mostly winging it and using common sense :unsure:

Its nowhere near finished so will just add to the thread as I go, maybe some of my daft ideas will help others, I've certainly learned a lot from reading through old posts in this section and haver also learned lots of potential mistakes along the way 🤪

Jigs for making the handle

The first thing was to make a cork clamp for compressing the cork when curing. This was made from 2 plastic blocks that I had lying around and some screwed rod. I countersunk the plastic a little to allow the cork to be perfectly centralised on the jig. Maybe OTT, but thats jus me!

5.jpg

4.jpg

Jig for cutting cork

This is just a piece of scrap wood, cheap and simple but effective

Countersink the wood to the exact depth

6.jpg

Push fit the cork

7.jpg

Use a fine hacksaw blade, keep it flat against the wood and gently saw through

8.jpg

The result is perfectly halved sections which only need a light sanding

9.jpg

Jig for turning the handle

These were made from old MDF skirting board, a drill mount and some runners from an old wardrobe door

10b.jpg

AlanT

Reaction score
Building the Butt

The Blank

The blank is an Aventik 11'3" #7 Switch Rod blank in a rather fetching green. I have to say, the finish is excellent and it comes with a spare tip and a bag!

1.jpg

Designing the handle

I like to design everything up front as I don't have much spare time for actually making stuff, and this way I can estimate how much cork etc I need and means I can get everything prepared up front.

3.jpg

Building the butt and reel seat