Thanks Thanks:  5
Likes Likes:  26
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Dying session on Sat.

20200118_120747-jpg

1st thing is to degrease. I'm no expert when it comes to dying but this is a fairly straight forward job. Some hot water in the bottom of the sink with some fairy liquid. Agitate the materials and give them a good swirl. I let them steep then swirled around some more...

20200118_121515-jpg

Rinse thoroughly in cold running water...

20200118_121515-jpg

The instructions state 1/4 teaspoon of dye and 1 table spoon of vinegar in 1 litre of boiling water. As I wanted a really strong yellow and as I had the pelt and 4 tails to dye i decided to double the quantities to 1/2 teaspoon of dye and 2 table spoons of vinegar with still the 1 litre of water. A high pot save splashes ruining the wifes tea towels along with your best Primark t shirt. So 1/2 teaspoon of dye in to pot. Be sure to stir well until totally dissolved then stir some more. Add 2 tablespoons of vinegar and again give it a good stir. Adjust the heat til you just see small bubbles coming up from the base of the pot and throw the material in...

20200118_121155-jpg
    20200118_121318-jpg

Agitate well as it simmers away. The pelt was already a light yellow so I checked after 3-4 minutes. The skin will give you an idea of how the final colour will be but will be a shade or 2 lighter when dry.
    I gave the pelt a few more minutes...probably 7 in total. Looked fine so took it out and gave it a rinse in cold running water..

20200118_122517-jpg
    20200118_122840-jpg

Happy with the colour of the pelt I sat it on the radiator to slowly dry. The squirrel tails were still simmering away for a total period of around 12 minutes as they were natural. I took them out and rinsed well with cold running water and they looked fine when wet...

20200118_123626-jpg
    20200118_125302-jpg

Sat them kn the rad to slowly dry and teased the fibres out to the side to make tying easier...

20200118_184027-jpg