Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Getting started

Default Getting started

New section so new thread, like my memory use it or lose .
    Not done any fly fishing for sea trout yet but hope to get some chance this year.
    First question-Is it possible to start with day time as opposed to night fishing ? I have read books which all tell me otherwise.
    Tackle required ? I have a 10' 7# Orvis Western (not 2) with large arbor reel and spools with 7 & 8 floaters,ints and slow sinkers.
    Will that be OK to start with? What about leaders, assuming wet flies assume straight mono/flouro of ?lbs
    any one got the dummies guide or common sense ideas i have missed or misunderstood?
    Any comments greatly received.

regards
    Gerry

Seems like a prety good setup to start with. I am no expert but I usually start with a floater and a couple of doubles or singles on 6 to 10lb line and then change to a slow sink or sink tip with a tube or waddy after 1am ish. The fish tend to go quiet arround this time and the bigger fly fished deeper seems to get more response.

Wake lures are well worth a try too and can provide some very exciting sport.

As to when to start fishing thats upto the individual. I usually wait until the bats are out but if i have an early start the next day I may start fishing sooner. Just as in salmon fishing you wont catch anything if your fly is not in the water.

Rod and lines sound right

breaking strain..depends on what size the trout are going to be

as for getting started..Read Faulkus Sea Trout cant go far wrong its all in there.

As for starting at night or during the day

Had better success at night with the fly but i only fished stretches of the river i knew like the back of my hand from day time fishing for salmon.

So my advice is fish at night but do a day time recce!!!!
    Ye Cannae help bein' a wee bit grumpy, No if ye was jist born crabbit

Smile