Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  7
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Shark on fly

Default Shark on fly

Anyone ever try it ??

My first trip of the year is next week and I'm going to try it , I have a few fly lines to try not sure of the lb breaking strain of some but I know the airflo and rio have 50lb cores so that will be fine

I'm thinking though is a fly line even necessary I mean I will have a big fly about 10 ft of steel wire and then possibly another 10ft of very thick line I don't think any sort of distance on the cast will be possible but it's not needed really as they can be right under the boat

Just curious if anyone has any setups I should consider and how they connect fly lines to leaders and wire etc

Thank you

Tied these up yesterday , I am no expert on the vice I had to use an idustrial vice I had in the shed so the 10/0 hook would fit

Going to get the blue and yellow next and I should be ok
    Attached Images Attached Images 20160528_211112-jpg 20160528_211005-jpg 20160528_211046-jpg 

Looks good but for me I would simply tie a live chicken onto a 10/0, much better movement that artic fox I am told.

Good luck

P.s. Remember your forceps
    Last edited by Tippet321; 29-05-2016 at 11:19 AM. Reason: Spelling

Remember through a fly rod, even a #14 you will never apply even 30lb of pressure. If you clamp your reel shut and point the line directly at the fish, that is when it'll snap. Fighting any BIG fish on a fly rod is a little of a misnomer. You're really hanging on and playing the runs till it tires out and you can gain upper hand.
    My friend who guides for Tarpon regularly chases fish over 100lb on #10-#14 rods.
    Last edited by Piker20; 29-05-2016 at 11:42 AM.
    "Out of every hundred men, ten shouldn’t be there, eighty are are just targets, nine are the real fighters, and we are lucky to have them, for they make the battle. Ah, but the one, one is a warrior, and he will bring the others back." Heraclitus