Thanks Thanks:  12
Likes Likes:  52
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Default Sons birthday Loop cross s1 build

I've always fancied having a go at building my own rod so thought it was a great idea to build a rod for my sons 15th birthday as he started salmon fishing with me last season and loves it he also took to a 2 handed rod no problem. So I bought a Loop cross s1 blank first and then had to learn how to build it. Its my usual way of doing things jumping in with both feet and learning rapid on the way down I've never done anything like this before so it was a steep learning curve and ive got to say a huge thank you to Ross from RJ custom rods who I had the great fortune of inadvertently buying the blank from. Ross has basically held my hand through this build as well as supplied me with most of the bits.
    So I did my homework and built my own homemade lathe for turning the cork, a rod wrapper for whipping the guides on and a rod dryer. My pal who makes beautiful salmon flies wants to help me so he is practising with the metallic thread at the mo on the wrapper. I've had to tweek my bobbin holders so they now have wing nuts. I've made everything fairly cheaply, I made the dryer with a £7.50 motor from ebay with a plumbing fitting with 2 O rings for the chuck. I got the wheels for my support from screwfix £1.99 each, I got my lathe chuck for £17 from ebay and spent £10 getting a rod fitted to the back of it so it fitted in my drill chuck. Here is my progress so far.
    Sorry don't know why pics are on their side and jumbled up
    Attached Images Attached Images img_9569-jpg img_9438-jpg img_9568-jpg img_9533-jpg img_9529-jpg img_9528-jpg img_9527-jpg img_9526-jpg img_9512-jpg img_9506-jpg img_9490-jpg img_9489-jpg img_9468-jpg 
    Last edited by The flying Scotsman; 26-01-2020 at 08:46 PM.

9d059581-ed09-4b3e-b4ee-1ce745e79818-jpg99c01f4a-6723-49b0-bb03-effa2475d27b-1-jpg

Ross also modified a Hardy rod tube for him