Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0

Default whiteish corrosion on a wet Vintage Perfect

I am relatively new to fishing with pre war Hardy Perfects. This is my first summer fishing a 3 3/4 1930's vintage Perfect on my new Bob Clay Cane 12 footer. It has been wonderful and I have caught some lovely fish on them. Part of my success has been some great rainy weather during some of my time on Canadian rivers, but I've noticed that after a day in the rain my Perfect develops a powdery white corrosion. It comes off with a bit of rubbing with a soft cloth with a little bit of oil on it , but is there anything I can do to prevent this? Is there a better way to clean it? It can be quite time consuming cleaning the white stuff from little crevasses and around the engraved letters and such
    Best
    Artcaster

I'm not sure whether it is specific to rivers, but I too have experienced the "white stuff" on vintage reels after fishing in Canada. Usually it comes after the reel has gotten wet, and then left in that state overnight. It does clean off with a fresh water rinse and gentle rubbing to dry. To prevent it, I've used a product called Boeshield on the reels, sprayed on and excess wiped off, then it dries to a waxy finish. It's a bit hard to find but a good product.

This issue has been mentioned on several forums, so seems to be fairly common.

Boeshield , I'll look for it on the web. Were did you find it? What is it made for(probably not vintage fly reels!)