Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Default Coloured deep hooked Salmon?

A bit of a controversial first post, but it is a subject that is bothering me. I am an experienced fly angler and am keen on all areas of angling. I am relatively new to Salmon fishing and have been keen to catch my first fish.

After days of fishing for salmon with fly and spinner I eventually took my first fish while spinning in near unfishable spate conditions on Sunday using a flying c. I wanted to return the Salmon but crawled down the steep bank and realised the fish was deeply hooked and as the river was in spate and there was no where safe to stand I needed to take the fish up the bank. I eventually realised that after the hard fight in the conditions and the mini opp needed to remove the deep hook, which did some damage to the gills, which the fish was unlikely to recover from…so disappointingly the fish was killed and will be returning from the smokery today.

I am a little upset as the fish was 8lb 6oz, and the local anglers try release most fish over 8lb and fish with any colour, although I was on my own water I aim to keep to these agreements. What I ask is should I have returned the fish and was it too coloured to keep even though it was near dead?
    Attached Images Attached Images small-image-jpg small-pic-2-jpg 

Quote Originally Posted by charles389s View Post
    A bit of a controversial first post, but it is a subject that is bothering me. I am an experienced fly angler and am keen on all areas of angling. I am relatively new to Salmon fishing and have been keen to catch my first fish.