Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  2
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Default Photographing Birds

I'm thinking of startng to photograph Birds....I know its an expensive hobby..

But can someone give me a heads up on teh equipment required and the likely costs..

complete beginner.

thanks

Camera!
    One of the best skills that an angler can ever develop is knowing the difference between passing the time and wasting it!

Followed by birds!!
    "Nothing makes a fish bigger, than almost being caught"

I use a drill and a wee hidden camera for photographing birds. Although the equipment was confiscated after that last court case.
    What to do? Stay green.
    Never mind the machine,
    Whose fuel is human souls
    Live large, man, and dream small.

Birds never even crossed my mind dabbler! Handy if you wanted to take their picture too!

Couldn't let my intial post go Ciaran. You left yourself open for that one!

Seriously though. An DSLR camera would be my advice to you. Stick to Nikon or Canon and you won't go too far wrong.

You can buy DSLR kits that usually come with a lens in the range of 18-55mm and another lens probably in the 50-200mm range.

When I bought my D5000 a couple of years ago it came with a 50-300mm lens.

You may need to by a lens in 500mm focal length to take pictures of birds at distance without spooking them.

There are some good entry and mid level camera available. Since I bought the D5000, it has been replaced with the D3100 and D5100 models. I really havn't kept up with specifiactions or anything so not entirely sure of the difference in them.

You would probably also need a decent tripod if you are going to be sitting waiting on birds. Saves trying to lift the camera and trying not to spook the birds at the same time.

I'm sure springer or crispin or anyone else who uses Canon equipment could advise you on those. I really don't know what model numbers are entry, mid range or advanced or anything.