Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0

Default Salmonid Habitat Enhancement

In response to MichealMoyola's thread on the General Board, I recieved some interest regarding advice on habitat enhancement, so I decided to write a short guide. A caveat though, I am by no means an expert in the subject. This guide is only based upon the experience of myself and those I have worked under and with.

I am going to do this over a number of parts. So...

Part 1: Habitat enhancement: Why should I bother??

Riverine habitats have been degraded. Arterial drainage schemes, channel straightening, the removal of key-stones etc. have all altered flow regimes and habitat availability for salmon and trout.

Whilst marine survival is poor and not fully understood (yet) and angling clubs can do little about what is happening salmon at sea, they can help the salmon whilst in-river. The whole idea of habitat enhancement is to maximise the efficiency of the river as a "smolt factory." The greater the survival rate we can achieve between egg and smolt, the more smolts we can send to sea, so that more will survive to return. And of course, the more adults return, the more eggs are deposited in our now improved river, to produce even more smolts. and so on... As you can see, it shouldn't take long for an effect to be seen, depending on the amount of work completed, its quality, and the quality of the habitat there previous.

Enhancement has been proven to help juvenile salmonid numbers. See here from page 66: http://www.loughs-agency.org/archive...ort%202009.pdf A neat little study.