Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  2
Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Default Guideline AWM 14'9 10/11

The Guideline Awm 14'9 10/11 feels to be a little softer than the Lpxe but is a gem. I use the following on it with ease and confidence

Power Tapers:
    11/12 int/S1 cut to 12.75m @44grams
    11/12 float/S1 cut to 12m @44grams
    10/11 sink 2/3 cut to 12.7m @43grams

I also use a 10/11 Airflo double hand Multi Tip sucessfully.

Superb budget rod and an excellen back up.
    Last edited by Scanny; 29-07-2010 at 01:47 AM.
    "In Britain we have a saying for situations like this.......difficult, difficult, lemon, difficult"

hi scanny
    is 47/48grms not a bit heavy for 10/11 shooting heads?

They are overweighted but I'm a novice with sunk line fishing so I opted for a size up and cutting them back so they are a little easyer to manage in deep wading or tight spaces with 2" copper on the end. The 10/11 heads un cut are certainly the route to go for distance on the rod
    Last edited by Scanny; 28-02-2010 at 06:32 PM.
    "In Britain we have a saying for situations like this.......difficult, difficult, lemon, difficult"

Had a couple of hours chucking with my new14'9" AWM in a local loch this afternoon. Still waiting for my shooting heads to arrive but used my Airflo 10/11 multitip - the 56.5 ft head version - and it flew! What a wee gem this rod is, can't believe it's available for the money. Can't wait for my shooting heads to arrive - think they'll be amazing in this rod.
    ..........so many flies, so little time!

I've since trimmed my heads down a touch to 44grams and use them without a polytip, fly out as easily but present a little nicer.

A very big fan of both the 14ft 9 AWM and the 14FT AWM love them to bits.A new LPXe owner to boot I find them easier to cast with allthough the LPXe is better with the faster sink rates.42g sees the AWM throw lines a long way very very easily.Mucho impressed indeedy.Pedro.