Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Default Angling Should be Fun!

Most people seem to have forgotten that salmon angling is a leisure activity & supposed to be fun. To hell with all the bickering & jealousy do what makes you happy & follow the guidelines below for a stress free pass time

- If you want to spend large amounts of money on your tackle & get personal pleasure in the purchase & its use then go for it. What you get out using your tackle more than justifies any material cost.
    - If you have the disposable means to fish exclusive beats with expensive tackle, increase your chances of a fish & therefore your enjoyment then do so, take some self satisfaction that you can, but donít look down on those who donít have the means as somehow inferior, most association anglers are life served & self taught & could likely teach you a couple of tricks & out fish you on the day.
    - If you have limited means, make the most of & buy the best you can afford (& no doubt continue to make purchases you canít), take some self satisfaction that you are the Ďworking maní & somehow more worthy than those Ďrich toffsí because you rough it & each success is all the more sweet because it may be hard won .But donít be jealous of those that Ďhaveí & accept that they are either just more fortunate or thoroughly deserve to be where they are. Remember that given half a chance you would fish the same beats & own the same expensive tackle. (Donít argue with me on this , how many would continue to drive a sensible 3 year old family car & holiday in Skegness if they won the lottery?)
    - If you are fishing within the rules then openly employ the method that gives you most satisfaction including if thatís the most successful & offer advice to any that ask it.
    - If you see someone using any method unfamiliar to you, accept they are within the rules & speak to the angler to learn all you can; you may want to give it a try next time out.