Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  27
Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Default Late Jan early Feb suggestions

I'm thinking a week at the end of Jan or early Feb will be in order... I've been fishing the Dee for many years at this time but fancy something different (that may have a fish or two in the system). The Tay seems like a good idea but there does seem to be a very heavy emphasis on spinning and herling that time of year and that's not really my thing. So, any suggestions. Are there any Tay beats that don't 'encourage' rods to spin or herl and have goo dfly water, or any recommendations for other rivers?

The Helmsdale in Jan looks a bit on the cold and windy side but is it worth the trip (550 miles from home) for example. The Tweed doesnt have many fish in that early.... I'm in a quandry....????

Suggestions?

A log fire , a good book , and a decent dram.
    Remember Thomas Muir of Huntershill

I concur with the above suggestion apart from the dram bit. Replace that with a cup of tea in my case.

two words...... Barbados, bonefish.

TonyPrior Guest

Go to the North or South Esks as soon as they open. A tiny bit later, but it will almost certainly be cold enough.

Quote Originally Posted by ibm59 View Post
    Suggestions?

A log fire , a good book , and a decent dram.
    Agreed.

If I lived near a decent salmon river I might take an odd day early in the season, just to scratch the itch. The chance of a fish is fairly remote, especially if you don't want to spin, but on the whole the fishing is correspondingly cheap.

Living in the south, if you want to fish in Scotland you have to factor in the fixed costs of travelling and accommodation. And frankly, once you include those, it makes the economics of such a trip look daft, IMO, as they will probably multiply the cost of the fishing itself several fold. And February fishing can be hard work, too.