Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  10

Default Tactics - 2nd down the pool...

Hi,
    I fish regularly with a good friend and I am currently in my second year as a fly angler so an absolute novice. I would assume that any of us who fish with a friend will be discussing tactics as we walk to the river bank. I think that we seem to influence each other quite a bit and possibly not for the best. We will be fair about who goes down the run first and swap as appropriate and it is a big advantage I feel to get the first run down.
    With this in mind, I began to try thinking outside of the box. As stated, we do influence each other and invariably stick to very similar tactics. My question is, What tactics are Proven to work ? What, if anything should the second angler down the pool do to pick up fish whom have already seen similar flies fished (probably foolishly) at the same depth ??
    Many thanks for any help....
    P.S. - If this has been previously discussed I would be happy to get a link. I did look but had no joy...
    Cheers..

Personally I think it makes less sense to keep going down a pool in the same way unless you believe fresh fish are constantly moving through. If fish are generally settled and have refused a size 10 cascade, it seems unlikely that 5 minutes later they will take a size 10 flamethrower. In these conditions I would go radically different. My go to variations are bigger and deeper, usually a Snaelda, or small and on top; a skated dry or hitch, or a fast sunray. Sometimes a tiny tube on a dropper in the surface film. Of course if you think first man down fished it badly enough to curtail his chances but not so badly as to ruin yours, same again might be a good choice!