Page 1 of 8 123 ... LastLast
Like Tree36Likes

Thread: Alness

Default Alness

For me the River Alness on the North side of the Cromarty Firth is the most magical river to fish. Six rotating beats with scenery varying from open moorland to deep gorges. Stunning scenery and a huge variety of pools. I've been fishing it on and off for nearly thirty years and never tire of it. Can't wait for my annual trip at the end of September!
    Eminem and Soundmixer like this.

Sounds excellent. We're booked in for the w/c 19th October, for our first ever trip.

Really looking forward to it, as it looks not only an amazing place to fish, but also somewhere very well run.

Any advice before our trip most welcome!

Oscar.

Default Alness

Quote Originally Posted by Oscar View Post
    Sounds excellent. We're booked in for the w/c 19th October, for our first ever trip.

Really looking forward to it, as it looks not only an amazing place to fish, but also somewhere very well run.

Any advice before our trip most welcome!

Oscar.
    Hi Oscar,

You won't be disappointed! You can find all the information that you need on the Novar Fishings Partnership website:Novar Fishings River Alness.

Roger Dowsett, who runs Novar Fishings, is a very nice guy and incredibly helpful. The website is one of the best I've ever seen.

Have a great trip!

Best wishes.

Alastair

Alastair,

Yes, have studied the website in detail, and drooled over all of the pools!

I may be in touch nearer the time for some inside info.

Let's pray for the rainiest summer and autumn on record...

Thanks, Oscar.

Caught my first ever salmon from the stick pool (if my memory swerves ?) on the Town water in 1977. It truely is a mystical place once you wander upstream through the Novar beats... bucket list ammended.

Default Alness